Turn Around…Barbara

Everyone has a go-to karaoke song (and if you say you don’t, you’re lying to me, or you’ve just never been to karaoke. Don’t worry, as soon as it’s your turn to sing, you’ll know your song). I have two: “Me and Bobby McGee,” which I wail through to the best of my ability, and “Total Eclipse of the Heart,” with which I have brought down the house on previous occasions.

My fondness for “Total Eclipse of the Heart” knows no bounds, so it’s no surprise that this Fiber One commercial speaks to me:

The commercial has just the right amount of silly, hitting my commercial sweet spot, pun intended. I laughed for quite sometime the first time I heard them sing “Barbara” instead of “Bright Eyes.” (I also happen to think that Barbara is a very funny name – my apologies to any Barbara/Barb/Barbies reading today.)

I only hope they keep this trend going. I’m thinking ELO’s “Don’t Bring Me Down.”

You wanna eat out with your fancy friends.
I’m tellin you the cake is coming in,
Don’t bring me down,no no no no no,
Ill tell you once more before you order dessert
Don’t bring me down.

Don’t bring me down…cake!

(I do not own the rights to “Don’t Bring Me Down” and I also don’t write parody songs very well … so, uh, don’t sue me, anyone.)

**And to address the elephant in the internet: It’s been quite a few months since I’ve posted; but just so you know, I wasn’t just doing nothin’! I was training for and running a half-marathon, hanging out with the guy who runs this blog (now that he’s finally moved to New York!), and working real hard at my awesome job (where we celebrate site launches in style). I hope to increase the post count now that I’m not getting up at 5 am to run and therefore falling asleep at 9 pm.

Leave a Reply

