Women, Weight and Television

1. EXT. NEW YORK TIMES OFFICES, DAY

2. INT. WRITER’S ROOM, DAY

New York Times Reporter ALESSANDRA STANLEY rushes into the room. It’s pitching time.

ALESSANDRA

I’ve got it. I’ve got THE story.

EDITOR

Go on?

ALESSANDRA

This year is the year of women in TV comedy. More importantly, it’s the year of less than skinny ladies. Did you see Pitch Perfect? Rebel Wilson calls herself “Fat Amy,” is full of confidence and appears to have an extremely active dating life. She’s more than her weight! And then there’s Lena Dunham, proudly being “normal-sized” on Girls…and…

EDITOR

Alright. So, Women in TV and their weight. Seems interesting enough. But who’s going to read it?

ALESSANDRA pulls out a manila envelope and tosses it down on the table. A few surveillance-style photos slide out.

ALESSANDRA

This girl.

CLOSE ON the photos, they show SARAH SHEPPARD. She is shown eating a large piece of pie, tripping on a cobble-stone walkway, and blowing her nose at a street corner.

ALESSANDRA

She’s the one.

FADE OUT

Okay, so, maybe that’s not exactly how it went, and I hope Ms. Stanley doesn’t mind being fictionalized on my blog, but this Sunday’s New York Times had the perfect  article for me: “Female Stars Step Off the Scale.”

I am unabashedly in love with female comedians. I know a lot of minute details about the lives of Tina Fey and Mindy Kahling. I can’t help but smile when I see Rebel Wilson or Amy Poehler on my TV screen. I think Lena Dunham is a genius, and I sometimes wish I could be her. I respect the Whitney Cummings and Chelsea Handlers of the world even though we don’t share the same sense of humor.

I love seeing my gender represented in the world of comedy. I have also struggled with eating, exercising and weight loss/gain/maintenance. I am proud to call myself curvy and fabulous. I’ve lost a little weight recently, to get a healthy BMI, but I definitely don’t want to lose my curves. They make me me.

That’s why it’s so awesome to have Mindy Kahling representing in The Mindy Project and Lena Dunham in Girls. As the article (WHICH YOU MUST READ) says, they’re the body types of our generation. They’re absolutely normal in size, and don’t we deserve to see people who actually look like us on TV?  I think so. What’s more important: they’re absolutely amazing and hilarious, and they have unique comedic voices that everyone should be exposed to. They’re not being silenced because of their less than bone-skinny appearances, and if things keep going the way they are, I don’t think they ever will be.

It’s a another golden age of television folks, and women are leading the way.

Leave a Reply

