NBC Thursday: March Madness Episodes

Well, it wasn’t a legit NBC Thursday this week, so I’m going to do a pseudo review. Here we go.

Community.

I loved Joss Whedon’s Dollhouse, and the main reason I loved it was because of Enver Gjokaj. He is an extremely talented actor, who constantly creates vibrant characters that stick with you. In this clip, Victor’s on an assignment, programmed as a Serial Killer to figure out where the real killer’s victims are, but something goes wrong, and the personality programmed into him suddenly switches from “Serial Killer” to “Ditzy College Flirt:”

Needless to say, I was extremely excited to hear that Gjokaj was going to be on Community; can you believe the guy in that video is the same guy with the spot-on Eastern European accent and the war crimes? I enjoyed his appearance, though it made me nostalgic for Dollhouse (Note to self: Buy Dollhouse). The whole episode was enjoyable, and the jokes were great, though this episode was more about the sight and sound gags than particularly funny lines. The “WAH WAH” trumpet sound made me so happy, along with the Paintball hoodies: “It’s all downhill from here.”

As I’ve said a million times before, Community is one of the best shows on television right now. Its commitment to continuity, along with its strong ensemble made its renewal a no-brainer.  Well, that and this:

Parks and Rec.

It was cute, it was funny, and it had great use of Ron. I didn’t take notes last night, so I don’t have any quotes/better points available. I promise to do Parks and Rec. justice in the next blog.

30 Rock.

Well, 30 Rock hopped on yet another new style of  cinematography: the reality TV style. I really am not a fan of Tracy’s wife, so I really didn’t enjoy this episode that much. I also don’t like when Jack doesn’t have an almost other-worldly control of things. I dunno, maybe it makes me feel more secure when Jack’s his usually suave self. Either way, this wasn’t my favorite.

Leave a Reply

