Oh Honey.

So, I’ve never been a huge Katy Perry fan. I don’t dislike her as much as I dislike Ke$ha, but I wasn’t thrilled when I found out she’d be guest starring on an episode of How I Met Your Mother. (I started watching HIMYM in college. I was just charmed by the HIMYM family…especially Jason Segal and Alyson Hannigan’s portrayals of Marshall and Lily.) Luckily, her character, “Honey” was pitiable and not in too many scenes, so I still enjoyed the episode.

Last night’s episode was pretty Marshall-heavy, so I was able to really enjoy it. The “convention” of this episode was story-telling through a series of phone calls (with a bunch of great jokes from Marshall’s mom and brother). Marshall’s still in Minnesota, spending time with his family after his father’s funeral, and the rest of the gang is relating the events in New York to him through a series of phone calls.

This is the first episode in a while that wasn’t terribly depressing. (Since the last two were a countdown to Marshall’s Dad’s death and the funeral). It was cool to have Marshall act as the audience, and it was great to have a call back to Interventions, and to the scene where the little old lady across the hall yells out, “Kiss her already!” Except this time, Ted actually kisses the girl, so now he’s officially dating Zoey.

I’m not the biggest fan of Ted’s relationship with Zoey, played adorably by Jennifer Morrison of House fame. I just feel like they’re lacking that chemistry that Ted’s had with other women. Though, I guess that’s the point, since she’s clearly not the mother.

…or maybe I just don’t like Ted dating blondes.

I'll always be a Ted-Victoria Shipper.

Leave a Reply

