Men Talking to Women

So, my Mom’s favorite Sunday night entertainment is My Fair Wedding with David Tutera. It comes on WE, Sundays at 9. Now, I’ve always fancied myself a bit of a party planner, so I enjoy watching it with her.

The usual commercial line up with wedding shows like My Fair Wedding is a bunch of formal wear ads intermingled with promos for other wedding shows. The other night, there was one formal wear ad that really caught my eye. It’s a Men’s Wearhouse ad:

Because of its slogan, spoken in a fantastically deep voice by the company’s founder, George Zimmer, Men’s Wearhouse has a unique challenge. The slogan clearly addresses men, so when the company wants to target women, who are way more likely to be picking out the men’s tuxes for a wedding,  it has to get creative.

This ad is talking to the groom….but it’s speaking to the bride: “When everyone’s looking at her, she’ll be looking at you…rent your tux at Men’s Wearhouse and you’ll look almost as good as she does.” The first time I saw this commercial, it hooked me in with that bride-enters-the-room sentimentality, and later it hit me, that’s  exactly what they’re trying to do. Hook me in, while addressing my groom-to-be.

It’s such a clever way to commit to your slogan’s intent and tone, while strategically changing your messaging to fit a new target audience: women who watch amazingly cheesy wedding-planning shows.

Even though I only now stumbled across this ad, it’s actually a few years old. I’m going to do a little research and see just who Men’s Wearhouse is talking to now.

Leave a Reply

